The Fungal Biology Research Award being presented to Professor Nick Talbot by Professor Elaine Bignell, University of Manchester, Chair of the British Mycological Society Research Committee.

Fungal biology research award 2016

Professor Nick Talbot FRS was awarded the Fungal Biology Research Award 2016 by the British Mycological Society. The award was made in recognition of his outstanding original contributions to fungal biology research.

The award was presented to him at The Dynamic Fungus- International Research Conference organised by the British Mycological Society and Microbiology Society and held at the Rougemont Hotel in Exeter in September 2016.

Professor Talbot said “I am honoured by this award, which is really for my research group and the talented students and postdoctoral fellows that have worked with me for many years at Exeter. It is in recognition of their hard work, more than anything. Fungal research has a rich history at Exeter, building on the legacy of Professor John Webster. The Dynamic Fungus conference was organised by Professor Sarah Gurr, Professor Gero Steinberg, and Dr Steve Bates, who showcased our strengths in fungal cell biology, plant pathology and medical mycology.

"We have great strengths in fungal biology, from evolutionary aspects studied by Professor Tom Richards, to human diseases, led by Professor Ken Haynes, cell biology led by Professor Steinberg, and food security research led by Professor Gurr. I am lucky to have such great colleagues"

Date: 6 December 2016

Read more University News